3 years later…

 

Image                                                     

10 years together, 3 years married, one child and one angel baby later, and I still love him.  Sure, there are times when I want to scream at him all day long, but I love him.  Happy anniversary to my sweet husband! 

I have to be honest, marriage is a lot harder than I expected.  Though my parents never did this, I was used to other people acting like things were always great in their marriage and they never fight.  This is NOT TRUE!  If this is the case, there is something wrong.  You are two different people with your own minds and your own habits.  How can two people come together, no matter how much they love each other, and not disagree on something?  I’m not saying that everybody has intense screaming matches, but getting along all of the time just is not possible. 

Fortunately, we went through premarital counseling.  We not only did it with our preacher, but also a Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist.  I think both were beneficial, but the therapist was great because he was able to help us identify the areas where we would probably struggle the most, and we talked about how to deal with those things.  Funny looking back now because we have the hardest times with exactly what the therapist pointed out!  I can’t recommend premarital counseling enough.  It really is a great thing.

You have to make choices to make your marriage a good one.  I’ll be honest, ours is not always good.  We’re still learning how to let things go that just aren’t important and sometimes we have to make a choice to be kind to the other (sometimes this is not easy for me).  Obviously, 3 years of marriage does not make me an expert, but my parents, Steven’s parents and other family friends who have been married forever have taught me so much.  We don’t have any special plans for our anniversary tonight, but we’re going to celebrate this weekend while my parents keep Little G.

Yay for 3 years, and I’m so excited to celebrate many more!

Any marriage tips?

Did you do premarital counseling?

How do you celebrate your anniversary?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. olivetorun
    Mar 13, 2013 @ 18:31:54

    I have only been married since October so I definitely don’t think I’m “qualified” to give marital advice but I will say CONGRATS 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

