Celebrate!

Saturday, Steven and I went out to celebrate our anniversary. My parents kept Little G. Before we dropped her off, we did some pilates together.
pilates
Ignore the mess in the picture. We live in a tiny house, so the entire thing is her playroom!

It was actually a boot camp video and it was really hard for me. I’m still sore today, but I love that feeling! When we got home from dropping G off, we got ready to head out for dinner.
us

I am horrible about forgetting to take pictures, so this was taken in the car after dinner! Seriously, one of the reasons I started this blog was to help me remember to take more pictures. I hope it works!

We started off with blue cheese chips. We ordered them because they sounded interesting. They really weren’t as interesting as they sounded. I’m not a huge fan of blue cheese, but this was pretty mild. I actually enjoyed them.
chips

We didn’t come close to finishing them because we wanted to save room for dinner. I decided on the pork tenderloin. It came with creamed spinach and mashed potatoes.
dinner

I ate about half of it. Everything was so good! The waiter asked if we wanted dessert, but we were too full.

I know you’re probably thinking about how unhealthy all of these foods are! Why would a dietitian eat this stuff??? When I was in high school and college, I believed in “good” and “bad” foods, but not anymore. I believe that you can enjoy all things in moderation, and that is what I teach my patients. If we restrict ourselves too much and never enjoy foods that we really like, we often go crazy and end up eating too much. I find that when I have some of the “unhealthy” foods that I really enjoy, I take my time and am usually satisfied before I eat too much. Life is all about balance. 🙂

I have a 5K coming up soon and I’m getting really excited. 5K is not my favorite distance, but I love how relaxed this race is and the after party is always so much fun! It was actually my very first race in 2010. I had to tinkle during the whole thing and was only able to run about half of it because the bouncing was not helping the situation. I was so disappointed! I learned my lesson and make a stop at the potty before every race now. 🙂

Any races coming up for you?
Did you remember to wear green yesterday?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ColleenH
    Mar 19, 2013 @ 16:34:42

    Steph! Y’all are precious and I’m so jealous you live in my home state that I miss so badly! 😉 I have an adventure race coming up in about a month. I burned myself out on marathons years ago, but I’m a Tough Mudder addict!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

